The History of the Wearside League


Where Ryhope CW had just failed to equal Royal Rovers record of four league titles in a row, Horden succeeded. Horden's first triumph was in 1969-70 (the club's fourth title) was achieved when they came from behind to pip long-time leaders Consett CW. They also won the Monkwearmouth Charity Cup that season with a 2-0 victory over Murton CW on the Horden Welfare Park. The title was retained the following year, with Gateshead giving the champions a hard fight for most of the season. In the 1971-72 season Horden completed a hat-trick of league titles and also reached the 1 st Round proper of the F. A. Cup. The following season was Horden's most successful ever. Not only did they win the championship for a fourth time, but they also won the Shipowners' Cup and the Monkwearmouth Charity Cup.

Boldon CW were one of the best cup-fighting sides of the 1970's. In 1971-72 they were double cup winners. In the Final of the Shipowners' Cup they beat Washington to carry off the trophy for the first time for 14 years. The following season Boldon CW triumphed in the League Challenge Cup. During the 1974-75 season Boldon CW managed to find the form in the League that they had shown in cup competitions and won their first Wearside League title for twenty years. The next season brought Boldon CW two more trophies: the Shipowners' Cup and League Cup. A change of name to Boldon CA did not stop the accumulation of silverware. The re-titled club retained the Shipowners' Cup in 1976-77 and won it again two years later.

Murton C W performed an outstanding feat in the closing week of the 1970-71 season, when they played four cup ties in six days. Three of these being final ties with one of these and the other game - a semi-final - going to extra time. The outcome was that Murton CW won three trophies: the League Cup, Shipowners' Cup and the Monkwearmouth Charity Cup. This was the first time in the history of the competitions that this had been done.

Hosted by UKSL